Announcing the iEducate Delaware™ Honorees!

September 26th, 2012

Category: News

We are very excited to announce the 2012 iEducate Delaware honorees!

Inspired by and created for the community, iEducate Delaware recognizes the unsung heroes of public education statewide. We received a large number of nominations, and from 15 finalists, five honorees were selected. Each will receive $2,000 to support their work and will be featured throughout the year as representative of the central message of iEducate Delaware—that everyone has a role to play in educating our state’s students.

The honorees were ultimately selected through a period of public voting and guidance from an external advisory committee of educators and community leaders representing all three counties. There were thousands of votes for the finalists! Thank you to all those who voted.  The advisory committee selected the candidates deemed to best represent the ideals of iEducate Delaware, with projects that had the most potential impact and reach.  They are:

  • Audrey Carey – an administrator at the Indian River School District who uses technology to address the unique needs of English Language Learners.
  • Margaret O’Dwyer – a community leader who co-founded the Delaware Youth Leadership Network, a program that teaches high school students critical leadership skills.
  • Sarah Preston – a teacher at Bush Early Education Center who taught the first support class for students with autism that was fully integrated in an inclusive setting.
  • Tracey Roberts – a principal at Pulaski Elementary who encourages her staff to involve and interact with the community and families in innovative ways.
  • Lori Roe – an instructional technology specialist at Cape Henlopen School District who designed a comprehensive technology program to make classes come alive for students.

Profiles of all the finalists are available at

Honorees and finalists will be recognized at the Vision 2015 Conference, held on October 17 at Clayton Hall on the University of Delaware’s Newark campus. To register, visit The focus of the day will be on implementation, which is why we are encouraging educators to attend—they are eligible to receive seven (7) clock hours toward renewal of their continuing license. Scholarships are available to educators to cover registration fees for the conference as well as substitute teacher costs, if necessary.

Related Topics:

Brittany Mason



More from: News

Sparking Curiosity and a Love of Teaching: Q&A with Teacher of the Year Cory Hafer

February 6th, 2024

Author: Matt Amis

We’re Hiring: Associate Director of Development

January 9th, 2024

Author: Rodel

We’re Hiring: Research and Policy Fellow

October 30th, 2023

Author: Rodel